Come on now..

Make it stop.  If you’ve got beauty, beauty, raise’m up.

There are standards that society places on us to be the right size.  We’re told we’re too skinny, or too fat.  (Usually too fat.)  All the time I see people (women especially) telling us that we should be proud of the skin we’re in, proud of our bodies.  We need to enjoy ourselves, and do our own thing.  Be confident in our skin, and do what we want with our bodies, modification, size, etc.  There’s a problem here.

Yeah it’s pretty clear. I ain’t no size two. But I can shake it, shake it, like I’m supposed to do.

Do what you want with your body, as long as it’s not what we don’t like.  I have a lot of female friends. I have a lot of guy friends.  The women are often saying how they feel like they’re judged by society and are “fat” by society’s standards, so they can’t find clothes that look sexy and are in their size, or clothes that fit them that don’t look like they’re wearing a bed sheet a-la-Casper.  They should be able to wear what they want, how they want, in their size, and look and feel sexy.

I see the magazines working that Photoshop. We know that shit ain’t real.

Women are judged by society (I’m using society loosely here, folks. That means other women, men, children, puppies, chickens, etc.) to maintain a perfect weight ratio.  And by doing so, we formulate opinions regarding choices that other women make.  Yes, I’m aware that this applies to men as well, but I have a specific point here, and it’s aimed towards women. Of which I am one, and am not excluded from this sad generalization.

I’m bringing booty back.  Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches hey!

When you see someone who is “fat” you think it. You think that they’re overweight, or chubby, or large, or OMG-GINORMOUS, or fat, or a fucking chunky munky.  But to her, she might be the perfect voluptuous embodiment of femininity. And she wouldn’t be wrong.  But there’s the other side of that.  When you see a girl who you see as skinny, or thin, or “anorexic” (adjective, not mental illness, here), or stick figure, you assume she’s happy being super thin.  But what you don’t see is that she might not be.  She might think that she’s fat.  She might think that she’s too thin.  She might think that she’s perfect.  You have no idea.  Hell, I have no idea.

But I’m here to tell you that every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top.

I lost a LOT of weight over the last two years.  Almost all of it last year. Over forty pounds.  I still have more I want to lose. I am pudgy.  I still see fat on my thighs, and on my butt, and my stomach.  But I have such anxiety about talking about weight, because every time it comes up, I hear “But you’re so SKINNY!”  or “You don’t need to lose weight, you’re already thin! You must be anorexic!” I’m not anorexic. I’m not bulimic. I’m just not skinny.

No, I’m just playing.  I know you think you’re fat.

I don’t know why it’s alright for someone ELSE to think they’re fat, or perfect, or too skinny.  Why is it that I’m not allowed to think that I’m too fat?  I’m not eating tape worms to make myself skinnier.  I’m not starving myself to make myself skinnier.  I just look in the mirror and know that I’m fat.  I’m not nearly as skinny as I could or should be.  I need to lose weight.  It’s embarrassing when I have to listen to someone berate me about my body image.  It’s depressing, embarrassing, and intimidating.  I just try to avoid talking about it to people.  I REALLY hate when someone says something like “Oh YOU’RE so skinny, I bet YOU look good in ALL of the slinky clothes.”  No I don’t.  No. No. No, I really don’t.  But hey, since when does what I think really matter to anyone else?

Leave a Reply

